Voice of YA Tag

writer-moments1

 Come join me for a wrtier’s favorite past time.

Meaningless Procrastination!

Nah, this was actually fun to do!

That being said, I wasn’t tagged. Read this on Tanner Childs blog, Inspiring Writers, and decided to go for it since he tagged who ever read his.  So, thank you Tanner!

RULES:

1. Thank the person who tagged you
2. Link to the original creator
3. Answer the ten questions
4. Tag at LEAST two other YA writers/bloggers
 

Rule two, here’s the original link, https://www.caitlinlambert.com/single-post/2017/04/22/The-Voices-of-YA-Tag

Now:
ABOUT THE WRITERS:

What draws you to YA?

YA has such a variety of options inside of it. Under the that one genre you have science fiction, fantasy, drama, paranormal, etc. etc. Not to mention those that read and write YA are such a welcoming bunch. Really can’t go wrong within this group.

Describe your writing process. Do you like outlines and structure, or seeing where the story takes you?

Used to be a pantser. That person that just started writing with no thought of where the story was going or what the characters were going to do. After a while, and many disappointing endings, I realized that maybe I should try an outline or two.  Still enjoy just sitting down and letting the characters guide me but I at least have something to look at when I’m stuck with no clue where to go.

How long have you been writing? Where are you in your journey?

I’ve been writing off and on since high school. For the longest time I thought of writing as nothing more than a hobby. Something to do when I got a handful of free time and nothing else to focus on. Now I’m going through the first round of revisions on my story Stop The Raven and hoping to publish it at some point in the future.

What do you need to write? Coffee? Music?

Both? I can’t write without some form of caffeine in front of me and sometimes when I’m writing that first draft a bit of music doesn’t hurt to set the mood.

If you could offer one piece of advice to another writer (OTHER THAN “don’t give up”), what would it be?

Don’t go this alone. Writing doesn’t have to be a solitary career. Make friends. Connect with people. I know I wouldn’t have made it this far without those fellow writers that I’ve met during this journey and I’m hoping to meet so many more wonderful people.

ABOUT THE BOOKS:

What book still has you reeling from its plot twist? (*no spoilers please*)

Glitter by Aprilynne Pike. I mean really. There better be a sequel to explain that ending.

What books are you most anticipating for this year?

Alice by J.M Sullivan. I love the Wonderland Stories and any retelling of it.

In your opinion, which YA book/series has the most unique premise?

Thirst by Christopher Pike. The main characters thoughts are long winded and sometimes pushing through pages and pages of feelings and description gets a bit tedious and is the main reason I never finished reading the series. I will give Pike the due that his story of avoiding love and failing despite knowing how much it hurts in the end is different and sometimes worth pushing through all those thoughts.

What is your all-time favorite quote from YA lit (I know, I’m cruel)? 

I can be amiable. Agreeable. Affable. And that’s just the As. Just don’t ask me to be nice. Nice has nothing to do with me. – The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

Honestly this one wasn’t that hard. This is my all time favorite quote of any book I’ve read. I have it memorized!

What book do you most hope will have a movie adaption?

I have to pick one? There’s so many wonderful books out there deserve a big screen adaption and others that you just know would be ruined other wise. I guess if I had to pick one it would the The Night Angel Trilogy. That’s a thrill ride all should see.
Fourth and final rule. Tag two people.
I don’t know that many people that would blog this so I’m doing the cop out of whomever wants to take the torch. Be my guest. Have fun!

5 thoughts on “Voice of YA Tag

Leave a Reply

